virtue/ virtue etymology

< Previous | Next >

passim

English-NZ
Hello,
this is my first post so you may critique ruthlessly and I won't mind.
I am an adult student of philosophy (groan)/moral psychology but this question does not relate to any specific assessment task.
I am interested in the etymology of the word virtue and the word's relation to the Latin root virtu.
A point to note is that Machiavelli resurrected the term virtu to underwrite certain of his ' Machiavellian' principles. The Latin word denotes qualities desirable in a military general.
Today the the word virtue has connotations that seem a little mawkish by comparison.
Another thing to note is that the notion of virtue excited interest in Victorian Britain (and consequentially post-Thatcher Britain)
Mindful of venturing into any annoying ideological or political territory has anyone any interesting insights and comments on this topic?
Thankyou.

• cuchuflete

EEUU-inglés
    Welcome to the forums, passim.

Your question is both specific—what is the etymology—and a rather vague, general request for "insights and comments". The specific part is easy.

Online etymology dictionary offers this:

early 13c., "moral life and conduct, moral excellence," vertu, from Anglo-Fr. and O.Fr. vertu, from L. virtutem (nom. virtus) "moral strength, manliness, valor, excellence, worth," from vir "man" (see virile). Phrase by virtue of (early 13c.) preserves alternative M.E. sense of "efficacy." Wyclif Bible has virtue where K.J.V. uses power. The seven cardinal virtues (early 14c.) were divided into the natural (justice, prudence, temperance, fortitude) and the theological (hope, faith, charity). To make a virtue of a necessity (late 14c.) translates L. facere de necessitate virtutem. [Jerome]
    As to the other part(s) of your thread topic, I need to point out the purpose of this forum. It is a discussion place to examine usage of English terms. Accordingly, we