vivre / être dans le trou du cul du monde

Nil-the-Frogg

Français (France)
Hi,

I've not used the expression as the title, because I think that colloquial forms are not well regarded there... ;)

I'd like to know the english equivalent for "vivre / être dans le trou du cul du monde", which means you are in a small remote place (village, isolated house...)

Bonjour, je suppose qu'un Français capable de me donner la réponse peut aussi bien lire ce qui est ci-dessus :).

• watergirl

English, U.S.A.
    "Shit hole" to me implies the quality (execrable...) of the place more than its isolation. (In other words, you could be living in a shithole in a big city as well as in the country.)
    :warn:A rather offensive expression closer to your phrase would be "bum fuck" (used at least here in the US) and you'd say something like
    "I was living in this bum fuck town...." I've never written it out before so it looks weird but I'm pretty sure that's what you're after.

Franglais1969

English English, français rouillé
    I must admit, I have never encountered that quaint americanism, water. LOL

I suppose a more polite translation could be "God-forsaken place"

Nil-the-Frogg

Français (France)
    Thank you both. Watergirl is probably closer to what I'm seeking, but I'm worried if that's so colloquial that it's weird to read it.

I've got "the dead-end of the world" popping up in my mind, but I don't know where I could have found this in the first place. I'm not sure that the meaning is remotely like what I'm looking for.

watergirl

English, U.S.A.
    Yes, I can't say I've ever used (or would acutally advocate using!) my suggestion - it just seemed to match your phrase pretty well. (And it is said a fair amount in this part of the world.) :)

Le Bélier

USA
    English/USA