Voiced or voiceless "s" in plurals

ewhite

USA/English
I'm teaching a Basic English course for Spanish speakers. It's a volunteer thing, and although I am an experienced teacher, I have never taught ESL before. Some of my students like to know "the rules". Sometimes, I would like to know "the rules" myself.

And here is an example: the difference in sound between the "s" at the end of boots and gloves. I can reach way way back into that speech course I took in college and come up with the terms voiced and voiceless, but I'm still not sure when we voice the s, and when we don't. Any help?

Also, does this voiced s (I guess it's a z, really) exist in Mexican Spanish? Every z-containing word I've tried on my students sounds like an s to me when they say it. Any tips on explaining how to produce it other than feel how your throat vibrates when you get it right?

• Outsider

Portuguese (Portugal)
    Well, I'm just a layman, but here's what I reckoned a while back.

ewhite said:
    Also, does this voiced s (I guess it's a z, really) exist in Mexican Spanish? Every z-containing word I've tried on my students sounds like an s to me when they say it.
    I don't believe the [z] sound exists in any dialect of Spanish. At least, not intervocalically. Maybe it shows up as an allophone of [s] before voiced consonants; I'm not sure.

ewhite

USA/English
    Thank you, Outsider!

That is exactly what I was looking for. And my apologies that I did not search more thoroughly in previous posts.

Heba

Egypt, Arabic
    Hi
    What I understood is that you want to teach your students when to pronounce the s at the and as an /s/ or a /z/.

Well, I made some search in the linguistic books I was studying. My linguistics professor offered the next rules for us (non-native speakers of English) to use /s/ or /z/ at the end of words: