Wear: kiru, haku

< Previous | Next >

theartofbreath

English
I'm a fairly new student to the Japanese language and my question is regarding the pattern of using one "wear" verb to describe multiple articles of clothing worn.

In Rosetta Stone it uses the following example...

Onnanohito wa shiroi shatsu to aoi jiinzu o kite imasu.
(The woman is wearing a white shirt and blue jeans.)

My question is this: is "kite imasu" used because "shiroi shatsu" comes first in the sentence?

if i were wanting to say...

Onnanohito wa aoi jiinzu to shiroi shatsu o haite imasu.

Would this be correct?

I know "Kite" is to wear above the waist and "haite" is below... does it matter which verb you would use to describe both?

Domo Arigato

• SpiceMan

Castellano, Argentina
    Hmm, yes it matters. When there are several possibilities kiru has... hmm, higher "precedence"?

Anyway, sounds odd with hairu, and it doesn't matter which kind of clothes come first in the sentence.

Flaminius

coclea mod
    日本語 / japāniski / יפנית
    EDIT: This post is flawed. Please fast-forward to #5 for a better answer.

Hello,

First of all, welcome to the WordReference forums! I hope you will have a lot of fun besides learning here. :)

:tick::tick: Onnanohito wa aoi jiinzu to shiroi shatsu o haite imasu.
    This is perfectly OK. Replacing haite with kite makes a very bad sentence. Looks like there is a mistake in your study material.

I know "Kite" is to wear above the waist and "haite" is below... does it matter which verb you would use to describe both?
    Do you mean what verb you'd use when you wear a hat and trousers, for instance? I'd do my best to prevent a verb from taking both as objects. ;)

赤い帽子に、白いチノパンをはいた男の子

As a side note, I find the conclusive form more fitting as citation forms than te-forms. The conclusive form is what dictionaries use as a head word for verbs. Thus, you should search for kiru and haku when looking them up in a dictionary.

Last edited:

theartofbreath

English