Web 2.0 crowned one millionth English word

• miguel89

Spanish
    It can probably count up to a million words, given that it is the language used by the whole world. Now, I don't know if we should grant this fact more importance than it deserves as a mere reflection of the historical circumstances in which we live. The English speaker should be no more proud of this than sad the speaker of the language with a hundred thousand words, half of which were last uttered two hundred years ago.

Athaulf

Croatian/Bosnia, Croatia
    To cut the story short, this whole "millionth word" business is a complete fraud. Language Log has had a series of postings about it. This one probably gives the best expose:
    http://languagelog.ldc.upenn.edu/nll/?p=972

I'm a physics major student and I'm curious what sort of math formula the Global Language Monitor does use.
    Making them up out of whole cloth, evidently. Be sure to look at the graph on the above page if you have any doubts.

Frank06

Nederlands / Dutch (Belgium)
    Hi,
    Does English really contain more words than any other language in the world?
    I think English has the most lexicographers... :D

By the way, I don't know why the amount of words was scaled down from the previously claimed one billion to a meagre one millon... (Maybe it's Thee Crisis...).
    Anyway, this kind of nonsense, which is regularly aired by the general press without any critical considerations, needs to be filed under the same category as:
    - "Inuit has (20/100/200/pick any number larger than the number of the latest claim) words for snow" and
    - "Chinese has (multiply 10.000 at random) characters".

These and similar language myths seem to suggest that linguistics is all a mater of having the biggest, the largest, the most... Sadly, these myths tend to persist and need to be debunked every month or so on almost every general language board I know.

Groetjes,

Frank

Last edited:

Schrodinger's_Cat

American English