Whatever, that, who, whoever

gothicpartner

Senior Member
Spanish
Estoy estudiando con mucho interés "Pronombres relativos" en inglés y no entiendo algunas cosas. Por ejemplo, dice:

CASE 1
When referring to MORE THAN ONE place, thing or idea use these relative pronouns: whichever, whatever

1)The three approaches(plural), whichever works is fine, produce a more ambiguous picture of a man.

2)Any excessive profits (plural), whatever exceeded accepted limits, would attract the notice of representatives.
when referring to only one thing, place or idea what I should use? :confused:
when I should use one instead of the other??? :confused:

Por ejemplo en las siguientes oraciones se usa "that/which" cuando se refiere a un sustantivo en singular (factor, abortion):

There is another factor(singular) that obviously boosts the reputation of both of these men.

Clinton refused to head toward the center on affirmative action and abortion(singular), which are the two most sacred issues to the traditional liberal wing of the party

CASE 2
When these relative pronouns are the subject of the dependent clause, use the subjective case: WHO, WHOEVER

3)Hillary Clinton's staff said it was the first lady (singular) who wasn't feeling well.

4)Most workers(plural), whoever was not employed by the auto manufacturer, toiled at one of the millions of little minnow companies.

5) Negotiations were not going smoothly between the two leaders (plural), who made no bones about not liking each other. :confused:
why not " whoever" as in 4)??

Por qué se uso "who" en está última oración si precede a un sustantivo en plural ( two leaders) ? por qué no fue usado "whoever" como en 4)?

CASE 3
When these relative pronouns are the object (receiving the action) of the dependent clause, use the objective case: WHO(M), WHO(M)EVER

6) Clinton knows that he is a polarizing figure(singular)who(m) people either love or hate.