When using solve to <return> a single variable

hhtt

Turkish
Hi, Because I am a student, it is important to understand textbooks for me. So I want to ask you a question about the verb of return in this example sentence: "When using solve to return a single variable, the array syntax is not necessary." The source is the book Matlab Demystified. Can someone explain me please what does it mean by
"to return a single variable" and here "solve" is a command.

Best Regards.

• entangledbank

English - South-East England
    A function returns a value. If sqr() calculates squares, and you put 8 in, the function call sqr(8) returns the value 64 - you give it the value 8, and it then gives you the value 64, which is called the return value. A function that solves an equation might need to return one value or more than one. So x - 2 = 0 has only one answer, but (x - 2)(x + 3) = 0 has two answers, and a cubic has three answers, and so on. So in general the solve() function needs to return an array of values: such as [2, -3] or [2, -3, -7]. But if it returns only one value (a single variable), it doesn't have to return the one-value array [2]. It can just return the one variable value 2. The value 2 is just a number, but the array [2] uses array syntax.

hhtt

Turkish
    But here the usage is a little different. Can you explain it? "MATLAB will simply return the command prompt and won’t say anything else,but if you try to use these variables again without assigning them values it will be as if they had not been seen before." So what does it mean
    by return the command prompt.

Last edited:

Andygc

British English
    Are you sure you copied that correctly? Not "MATLAB will simply return to the command prompt ..." A mathematical function cannot return the command prompt, the prompt isn't a value.

Myridon

English - US
    In command line mode, you are given a command prompt:
    >
    you type
    > sqr(8)
    and Matlab returns:
    >