Which O Is Stressed In обо?

Discussion in 'Русский (Russian)' started by RhoKappa, Mar 7, 2009.

1. RhoKappa Senior Member

California
    Standard American English
    Hello, everyone. I'm new to this forum and I'm excited to get help from you all to help me learn Russian. I can use all the help I can get. This is my first post, so please be gentle with me. Sometimes you will find me asking stupid questions, but understand that I am studying Russian on my own. I am always willing to learn something new every day.

Here is my first question, and it is very easy. Consider this phrase.

Они говорят обо мне.

This is a simple question of pronunciation. My book does not specify with stress marks which o is stressed in обо. My chances are 50/50, so I'm guessing the first one.

Is it pronounced обо or обо?

2. CapnPrep Senior Member

France
    AmE
    It's a trick question… There is a third possibility, and in fact your book gives you the answer!

3. Maroseika Moderator

Moscow
    Russian
    The first "о" is slightly stressed, though in normal speech this stress is not so evident. However when singing one would rather pronounce [а-а-аба мне] or [а-а-аба-а-а мне] мне but scarcely [аба-а-а мне].

4. tram-pam-pam Senior Member

UK
    Russian
    If you stress the first syllabus too much, in normal speech it'll sound as another word - оба (both).

5. Maroseika Moderator

Moscow
    Russian
    I guess this is impossible. Such disaster may happen only if [a] of обо is substituted with [o] of оба.

6. palomnik Senior Member

Vietnam
    English
    Rhokappa:

Welcome to the forum!

In case you haven't already guessed, the stress in обо мне is on мне. Treat the whole phrase as if it were one word.

Simple? Yes, maybe.

7. Slavianophil Senior Member

Russian
    Yes, prepositions in real speech are normally not stressed at all. Except for long complex prepositions like "в течение".

Short ones are pronounced as if they were part of the following word.

8. luvana