with ceaseless rain sweeping away wildly before a long and lamentable blast

Irelia20150604

Chinese
The context comes from Jane Eyre Chapter 1
===
I mounted into the window-seat: gathering up my feet, I sat cross-legged, like a Turk; and, having drawn the red moreen curtain nearly close, I was shrined in double retirement.

Folds of scarlet drapery shut in my view to the right hand; to the left were the clear panes of glass, protecting, but not separating me from the drear November day. At intervals, while turning over the leaves of my book, I studied the aspect of that winter afternoon. Afar, it offered a pale blank of mist and cloud; near a scene of wet lawn and storm-beat shrub, with ceaseless rain sweeping away wildly before a long and lamentable blast.
====
I don't quite understand "with ceaseless rain sweeping away wildly before a long and lamentable blast" here. Referring to the thread "It does not surprise me that this sentence gave you problems. It is not a very good one: overwrought and not too clear with this blah-blah rain sweeping (something?) away (in a blah-blah manner) just in front of the blah-blah wind. (I hope you are not now going to tell me it is by some famous writer!)", I try to interpret it as "with ceaseless rain sweeping away wildly in the presence of a long and distressing violent gust of wind (i.e., the rain swept away while the wind blew)" Is it right?

• velisarius

British English (Sussex)
    :D Sometimes n old post will come back and bite you on the butt.

Not so much "in the presence of", but more "running away from" - the long and wailing blast of the wind is driving the ceaseless rain. The rain is driven wildly by the blast of the wind.

Irelia20150604

Chinese
    Ah! Thank you for your explanation! :D

I've managed to look it up in OED (I'm often rejected by the OED website for I'm not a subscriber), finding the definition as below: