word ending with ي yaa2 + possessive ي yaa2

Wyldephang

English (U.S.)
مرحباً! إسمي راين و أنا طالب جامعة. أسكن في ماريلاند

This is my first post at the Arabic forum and I thought I'd give a small introduction in addition to a question. I am a student at the University of Maryland University College majoring in English. At the university, I began studying Arabic, too, and want to become fluent. I hope to learn a lot at this forum and become closer to my goal!

My question is very simple. To denote the "possessive" in Arabic, we generally see the letter ي at the end of the word, as in كتابي.

With the word كرسي however, there is already a ي at the end of the word. To write "my chair," would we double the ي and write كرسيي or is there another way?

Like, if I wanted to write the sentence: I found it under my chair.

.___وجدته تحت كرس

Perhaps someone could clear up this confusion. :) It's nice meeting you all!

I hope my Arabic is not too hard to understand. I've only been studying for a short while! If there are other big mistakes, could you point them out? Thanks!

• Haroon

Arabic-Egypt
    Hello, راين and welcome to the forum.
    note that the word " كرسيّ" shall be witten with the mark you see instead of double " ي".

Last edited:

Haroon

Arabic-Egypt
    after revising the rule I found that in case of كرسي it is written with either double or triple ي -
    i.e: كرسيّ or كرسييّ.

Abu Talha

Urdu
    طيب وفي حالة "سعي" كيف ستضيف ياء الملكية..؟
    I'm thinking that the rule has to do with whether the final ياء is متحركة or not.

For example الماضِي will become ماضِيَّ, and فِي will become فِيَّ.

But سَعْيٌ , since the ياء is متحركة will become سَعْيِي.

كرسيٌّ it seems is a special case, because the final ياء is already مشددة.

lukebeadgcf

English – US