words of German origin

< Previous | Next >

PERSEE

French, France
Hi, does anyone know where I could find a list of Russian words coming from German?

More generally, is there a free etymological dictionary of Russian on the Internet? Or a cheap one that comes in one volume, not a monster... (I do have a monstrous one in French, but in Russian, I'm still a beginner!)

By the way, I've been unable to find a word in German resembling шкаф, which somehow looks German.

Шарф seems to be a Nordic word. (I looked up the origin of the English "scarf").

• Maroseika

Russian
    Hi, does anyone know where I could find a list of Russian words coming from German?

More generally, is there a free etymological dictionary of Russian on the Internet? Or a cheap one that comes in one volume, not a monster... (I do have a monstrous one in French, but in Russian, I'm still a beginner!)

By the way, I've been unable to find a word in German resembling шкаф, which somehow looks German.

Шарф seems to be a Nordic word. (I looked up the origin of the English "scarf").
    www.vasmer.narod.ru of Max Vasmer - one of the two best and largest russian etymological dictionaries. The second one - of P. Chernykh - still is not available in the internet, unfotunately.
    Dictionary of Chernykh is more modern (80th), but less in the volume, because prof. Chernykh has expired before his work has been completed.
    Dictionary of Max Vasmer is twice as large, but was completed in the 50th, and therefore is not so precise, not including scientific achievements of the last decades.
    Шкаф < шкап - from Skandinavia (Norv. skap, Danish - skab, Swedish - skap).
    Later шкап has changed to шкаф as affected of German schaff. There was dialectical variant fo this word - шаф.[Chernykh].
    Шарф < Polish szarfa, szarfa (military band) < Ger. Schärpe (scarf) < Fr. echarpe (armlet) - [Vasmer].

K.u.r.t

Czech