You won't learn anything by translating all the time.

FireRaptor

Spanish
Hello everyone,

I started learning dutch a few months ago, and even though I think i have learned many useful things in such a short time, there are many occasions in which I still struggle to think how to express my ideas.

For example, this sentence:

"You won't learn anything by translating all the time."

What i want to express here, is that someone will not learn a new foreign languages properly is he continues translating sentences all the time "but i know that's how I start ;)"

I would probably say:

Je zal niets leren tijdens je altijd vertalen

Or

Je zal niets leren als je altijd vertalen

Which should be: You won't learn anything if you translate all the time.

I would appreciate your help.

• ThomasK

Belgium, Dutch
    Je zal niets leren als je altijd vertaalt, But more literally: ... door altijd te vertalen. The meaning is slightly different from the former, but in practice it hardly matters. However, the "niet" obscures this meaning whereas : je leert veel door te vertalen is perfect - and perfectly logical. ... als je vertaalt is somewhat different stricly speaking but the meaning must be about the same...

eno2

Dutch-Flemish
    "You won't learn anything by translating all the time."
    Je zal niets leren door de hele tijd te vertalen.

Literal...But of course I find that better than what I read already ;)

Success FireRaptor.

I studied Greek for years and can partly and badly formulate some of my more simple ideas.

Alisson Pereira

Portuguese - Brazil
    Bom dia!
    Ik heb een vraag.
    If that were a kind of test I'd translate or say: ''Je gaat niets leren als je de hele tijd gewoon zit te vertalen''.
    Does that make sense to you?

bamia

Dutch
    Bom dia!
    Ik heb een vraag.
    If that were a kind of test I'd translate or say: ''Je gaat niets leren als je de hele tijd gewoon zit te vertalen''.
    Does that make sense to you?